David Furrow: Guided by Faith On and Off the Field

First day CNU  By: Sam Dillistin

Coming from a small high school in Virginia, David Furrow knows that he began as a small blip on the radar. Ask him where he is from and he’ll answer, “I’m from Warsaw, but there’s a small chance you know where that is”.

To put it bluntly, “it’s in the middle of nowhere, no one has ever heard of Warsaw.”

Although his high school graduating class was composed of a mere 350 students or so, Furrow has always dreamt bigger. He loves sports and participated on three separate teams during high school, with football becoming the most prominent focus his junior year when one of his coaches, a former Division III football player, approached Furrow about playing on the collegiate level.

“He asked me if I had considered playing college ball, and I told him I really hadn’t.” Referring to playing Division III, Furrow stated that, “we talked about it a little bit but not a whole lot. After that, I decided to put other sports aside and really focus on football because I enjoyed it.”

Furrow initially played track & field as well as soccer, not typically sports that host men of his size. Seeing as though he is naturally larger (6’3”, 270lbs) than the average male, Football was too good to pass up. For Furrow there are two aspects of the sport that stick out to him the most.

David Furrow Profile

“I enjoy the team aspect and the physicality of the game.”

Reflecting on his time associated with CNU Football, David is nothing but gracious for the opportunities he has been granted. He was able to start for three seasons, playing a different position each season while still experiencing individual success. Yet, the crowning achievement of his football career came during the 2014-2015 season when CNU defeated Delaware Valley College 29-26 in the first round of the playoffs.

“That was a huge moment for CNU football because Division III has something like 300 schools, so to make it into the final 32 was a big accomplishment, and winning in the playoffs was an even bigger accomplishment. That was probably my favorite team accomplishment, probably one of the shining moments of my career here.”

Although he has been highly successful on the field, Furrows has also excelled in the classroom.

“As far as personal achievements go, I earned All-Conference awards, but I also earned Academic All-District, which is an award that looks at athletics and academics and combines them, looking for the best student athlete in the region. I won that two years in a row which was a big deal and kind of humbling to me because it’s a blessing to have this whole opportunity in general.”

Furrows’ time as a student-athlete has prepared him for adult life, any scenario, any time.

“CNU football set me up to accomplish anything I want and take it head on. Sometimes you have to get knocked down and pull yourself up, sometimes you have to get chewed out, something that happens in the real world too, sometimes you just have to turn around and do a better job the next time.”

Within five minutes of meeting Furrow it is obvious he has an indelible work ethic. He will not be denied by any endeavor, no matter how difficult. Furrow believes his work ethic and desire to be great comes from a source that he claims is unpopular to discuss for young athletes.

“Well, I know it’s not a popular thing to talk about, but I’ve been pretty heavily involved with the FCA ( Fellowship of Christian Athletes) as well as the local church here. That has been a huge inspiration for me. I’ve pulled a lot of inspiration from Christ and I feel like when you can focus and draw inspiration on that and look at that as the reason you’re doing something, it gives you something to play for.”

Most athletes refer to their parents as the driving force behind them throughout their careers. When asked where he draws inspiration from, Furrows didn’t sugarcoat his feelings.

“You don’t normally hear ‘Oh jesus!’ As the reason you do things. I really love my mom, my parents, my grandparents and I want to make them proud, but I’m not going to lie to you and say where I get my strength and determination from. Ecclesiastes 9:10 says whatever you do, do it with all your might, of course that’s paraphrased.”

Furrows makes it very clear that his faith is the driving force behind him in both athletics as well as academics. After graduation, he will be attending Radford University’s Doctor and Physical Therapy School. After nearly a decade of dishing out the hits, Furrows will be learning to heal them.

“We graduate the 14th and that starts the 24th, so I get like ten days off and then right back to it. But it’s something I’ve wanted to do since high school. Thought about it a lot, prayed about it a lot, and I’m excited.”

As for career aspirations, Furrows isn’t quite sure where his degree will lead him.

“I’ve narrowed it down to physical therapy at this point. But there are so many applications for it. Take this with a grain of salt, but I’d like to do something with athletics or with military members and prosthetics, something like that.”

David Furrows has accomplished several key goals so far in life, but according to him, there is no reason to celebrate quite yet.

“A lot of people look at me, especially because of football, they tell me I’ve accomplished a lot and done a great job. I’ve done well in the classroom too. Realistically, I don’t see that as very special, anyone can accomplish that if you put your mind and effort into it. I think it boils down to how much you really want it and what motivates you.”

Leave a Reply

